Ashbury College

- Why
- Those aiming for two languages · Those who want the IB Diploma
- Because
- Long IB experience · Two diploma pathways · Bilingual options
- Result
- Wide university choice · Language gains · A global environment
- Benefit
- Mid-market price · CAD 1,990 below the median, with IB and boarding with supervised study
- Cost
- CAD 87,660 (headline annual fee with boarding) · about CAD 8,766 per school month
Why Ashbury College?
The school suits families who want their child to learn both English and French, and to do so in a safe capital city. CAIS accreditation shows that the quality of education and management is reviewed against national standards.
- Those aiming for two languages: Students who want to strengthen French alongside English. French is one of Canada's two official languages.
- Those who want the IB Diploma: Students who want to graduate with an internationally recognized program. The school has taught this program for more than 40 years.
- Those who want to live in the capital: Students who prefer to study in a large but calm city. Ottawa is home to federal institutions and embassies.
Reasons: the features that set Ashbury College apart
- Long IB experience: More than 40 years as an IB World School means the Diploma Programme is delivered by a settled teaching staff.
- Two diploma pathways: Alongside the IB Diploma, the OSSD and IB certificates are offered; students can choose the load that suits their strengths.
- Bilingual options: Thanks to English and French bilingual courses, the student can progress in both official languages.
- Small classes: The student-teacher ratio is 8:1 and the average class size is 17. Students get the chance to speak in class.
- Three boarding houses: Boarders come from more than 40 countries and live in three separate houses. The setting is multicultural but family-sized.
- Capital location: The campus is close to Parliament Hill, museums and the Rideau Canal; lessons are supported by the city's cultural resources.
- Easy access: The international airport is 30 minutes away and the train station 10 minutes. Holiday travel and family visits are easy to plan.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
Annual boarding fee is CAD 87,660 for 2026-27; inclusions are not stated.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| Annual boarding fee | 87,660 | listed with the annual fees |
| Headline annual fee with boarding | 87,660 | 2026-27 |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 8,766 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included.
Page does not state what the fee covers or whether international students pay a different boarding fee; uniforms, insurance, personal expenses and winter clothing are extra; ask the school.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 87,660, this fee is CAD 1,990 below the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.
Outcome: a bilingual, international outlook
- Wide university choice: The IB Diploma and OSSD together support applications in Canada and abroad. On return, recognition is handled by the home country's education authority.
- Language gains: The student can develop French alongside English; this is a distinct advantage at university and in working life in Canada.
- A global environment: Students from more than 60 countries study together at the school, and students from more than 40 countries live together in boarding.
- Life skills: The boarding program focuses on independence and daily living skills; the student can organize their own routine on moving to university.
Benefit analysis: what the investment buys
The student works toward the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) plus International Baccalaureate (IB), taught and assessed by certified Canadian teachers.
Every lesson, club and team runs in English, which turns English into a working language rather than a school subject.
On-campus boarding with supervised study time, meals and weekend activities inside one community.
Clubs, teams and community activities let the student build a profile beyond grades.
A Canadian transcript, teacher references and extracurricular record that Canadian and international universities review directly.
Cost–benefit at a glance
| Measure | Value | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Annual investment | CAD 87,660 | Headline annual fee with boarding, from the cost analysis above |
| Per school month | CAD 8,766 | Over a 10-month school year |
| Price position | −CAD 1,990 | vs. median CAD 89,650 · 24 CAIS schools with boarding included |
| Specialty programs | 1 | International Baccalaureate (IB) |
| Living arrangement | Boarding | Included in the cost analysis where the school publishes it |
| Language support | Immersion | No separate ESL program in our data; we confirm with the school |
| Value verdict | Mid-market price |
Priced in line with the median across 24 CAIS schools with boarding included. The decision rests on fit: IB and boarding with supervised study rather than price.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Cost: The 2026-27 boarding fee is published as CAD 87,660. An additional budget is needed for uniform, insurance and personal spending. The current fee and what it covers should be confirmed with the school before applying, and families should ask whether the fee differs for international students.
- Climate: Ottawa winters are very cold and snowy. The student should be open to winter activities such as ice skating, and a separate budget should be set aside at the start for winter clothing.
We recommend determining the right grade and timing for Ashbury College and the IB program together. You can contact Canadian Edu Centre for a free preliminary assessment meeting.