McDonald International Academy

- Why
- Students who want to save time · Students who want to live downtown
- Because
- Operating since 1994 · Three-term system · Large alumni network
- Result
- Shorter timeline · Calculable budget · Central living
- Benefit
- Mid-market price · CAD 380 below the median, with AP, boarding with supervised study and ESL support
- Cost
- CAD 24,000 (headline annual tuition) · about CAD 2,400 per school month
Why McDonald International Academy?
The school is one of the accelerated-calendar options for students who want to complete their remaining high school credits in the shortest possible time. It also allows additional credits on top of the standard eight-credit load in an academic year.
- Students who want to save time: Those planning to complete their credits on an intensive schedule.
- Students who want to live downtown: Those looking for a school on the subway line, around Yonge Street.
- Families looking for a long-established school: Those who prefer an established institution with experience of international students.
Reasons: MIA's concrete features
This information is based on the school's official information and fee pages. Each point is written together with its effect on the student's plan.
- Operating since 1994: The school was founded in 1994 and is registered with the Ontario Ministry of Education; the credits it grants count toward the OSSD.
- Three-term system: With September, January and April intakes and accelerated options, more credits can be completed in a year.
- Large alumni network: Since its founding, more than 20,000 students from over 50 countries have graduated.
- AP and IELTS: Advanced Placement courses and IELTS preparation are offered in the same school.
- ESL program: English support is provided as a separate program, so students with a lower language level can also start.
- Residence and homestay: Options include a shared or single residence room, or homestay with two meals included.
- Settlement support: Help is given with matters such as opening a bank account, which makes the first weeks easier.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
Annual tuition is CAD 24,000 for an 8-credit year; a shared residence room is CAD 8,500 for 10 months and the meal plan is CAD 6,000.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition (8 credits) | 24,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| Student residence, shared room (10 months) | 8,500 | per month |
| Meal plan | 6,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| Extra credit (each) | 3,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| AP course (each) | 3,600 | listed with the annual fees |
| Books (approx., per term) | 300 | listed with the annual fees |
| Health insurance | 600 | listed with the annual fees |
| Activities | 400 | listed with the annual fees |
| Application fee | 200 | one-time |
| Headline annual tuition | 24,000 | school year not stated |
| One-time fees in the first year | 200 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 2,400 per school month over a 10-month year, before accommodation.
The page does not state the school year for these fees; homestay fee not given; confirm current figures with the school.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 24,000, this fee is CAD 380 below the median of CAD 24,380 among 16 private schools, tuition only.
Outcome: what it means for the student and family
The accelerated calendar and central location shorten the timeline for students with a clear goal. For families, the key points are:
- Shorter timeline: The intensive calendar can bring forward the start of university.
- Calculable budget: An eight-credit year costs CAD 24,000. A shared residence room is CAD 8,500 for 10 months, and the meal plan is CAD 6,000.
- Central living: School, library and transit are within walking distance.
- Integrated preparation: Diploma, AP and IELTS progress at a single address.
Benefit analysis: what the investment buys
The student works toward the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) plus Advanced Placement (AP), taught and assessed by certified Canadian teachers.
ESL/ELL support builds academic English step by step, so subject marks are not held back by language.
A choice of on-campus boarding or a carefully placed homestay, with staff responsible for the student’s daily routine.
Clubs, teams and community activities let the student build a profile beyond grades.
A Canadian transcript, teacher references and extracurricular record that Canadian and international universities review directly.
Cost–benefit at a glance
| Measure | Value | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Annual investment | CAD 24,000 | Headline annual tuition, from the cost analysis above |
| Per school month | CAD 2,400 | Over a 10-month school year |
| Price position | −CAD 380 | vs. median CAD 24,380 · 16 private schools, tuition only |
| Specialty programs | 1 | Advanced Placement (AP) |
| Living arrangement | Boarding & homestay | Included in the cost analysis where the school publishes it |
| Language support | ESL/ELL | Structured English support listed by the school |
| Value verdict | Mid-market price |
Priced in line with the median across 16 private schools, tuition only. The decision rests on fit: AP, boarding with supervised study and ESL support rather than price.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Additional costs: Application CAD 200, activities CAD 400, health insurance CAD 600, and books about CAD 300 per term. An additional credit is CAD 3,000 and an AP course CAD 3,600. Current fees should be confirmed with the school before applying.
- Fast pace: Content is dense in the short terms; a student who does not study regularly may fall behind.
- Campus: This is a city school located on a floor of an office building. Sports fields and large outdoor spaces should not be expected.
- Custodian: A custodian must be designated for students under 17 who arrive without a parent.
Practical notes
A total of 30 credits is required for the Ontario diploma. The school determines, on the basis of the transcript, how many credits the grades completed in the home country are equivalent to. After graduation, recognition is applied for through the education authority of the student's home country.
Based on your child's transcript, we can calculate together how many credits will be needed at MIA and how long graduation will take. Contact Canadian Edu Centre for a free preliminary assessment.