Lower Canada College

- Why
- Families seeking the IB · Strong English speakers
- Because
- IB continuity · Pre-University year · International student share
- Result
- Academic level · City life · Two languages
- Benefit
- Mid-market price · CAD 120 below the median, with IB and homestay
- Cost
- CAD 33,220 (headline annual tuition) · about CAD 3,322 per school month
Why Lower Canada College?
LCC suits families who want a high school in a bilingual, major university city and who prefer a city day school to a boarding campus.
- Families seeking the IB: Students who want to graduate with the internationally recognised IB Diploma Programme.
- Strong English speakers: Students who can enter the academic programme directly, without language preparation.
- Families living in Montreal: Parents who relocate with their child, or who are open to a homestay arrangement.
Reasons: the features that make LCC fit this need
- IB continuity: The school offers both the IB Middle Years Programme and the IB Diploma Programme, so students follow one approach from middle school through to graduation.
- Pre-University year: Quebec's high school diploma is awarded at Grade 11, and LCC also offers a Pre-University year at Grade 12, so students can move on to university from the same school.
- International student share: The school reports that 15% of enrolled students are international and that it admitted 48 new international students in 2025-26, so newcomers are not isolated.
- Homestay partnership: The school works with the Canada Homestay Network, so students arriving without family can stay with a matched host family.
- Global programmes: The school is a Round Square member and offers student exchanges, so students build links with schools in other countries.
- Mandatory French: A Quebec diploma requires French as a second language, so students develop French alongside English. Students with no prior French may find this course demanding.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
Grades 9-12 tuition is CAD 33,220 to 34,945 per year for 2026-27, plus a CAD 7,500 annual surcharge for students who have lived in Quebec for less than three years.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition, Grades 9-12 (lower end of range) | 33,220 | listed with the annual fees |
| Tuition, Grades 9-12 (upper end of range) | 34,945 | listed with the annual fees |
| International student surcharge (lived in Quebec less than three years) | 7,500 | listed with the annual fees |
| Headline annual tuition | 33,220 | 2026-27 |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 3,322 per school month over a 10-month year, before accommodation.
Homestay cost is not included and its amount is not stated; uniform, books and laptop are billed separately; tuition inclusions not specified; confirm with the school.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 33,220, this fee is CAD 120 below the median of CAD 33,340 among 5 CAIS schools, tuition only.
Outcome: what it means for the family
- Academic level: An IB diploma is a recognised credential for university applications in Canada and abroad. The school describes its facilities as among the best in the city, with dedicated spaces for arts, sports and learning support.
- City life: Students experience Montreal's everyday life rather than a closed campus. Museums, universities and bilingual street life become an extension of the school.
- Two languages: French classes give an advantage to students who plan to study at a Quebec university.
- Lower school fees: Because there is no boarding fee, the school bill is lower than at boarding schools. Accommodation costs are calculated separately.
Benefit analysis: what the investment buys
The student works toward the Quebec Secondary School Diploma (DES) plus International Baccalaureate (IB), taught and assessed by certified Canadian teachers.
Every lesson, club and team runs in English, which turns English into a working language rather than a school subject.
A screened homestay family provides a private room, meals and daily support, and the school monitors the placement.
Sports Academies let the student build a profile beyond grades.
A Canadian transcript, teacher references and extracurricular record that Canadian and international universities review directly.
Cost–benefit at a glance
| Measure | Value | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Annual investment | CAD 33,220 | Headline annual tuition, from the cost analysis above |
| Per school month | CAD 3,322 | Over a 10-month school year |
| Price position | −CAD 120 | vs. median CAD 33,340 · 5 CAIS schools, tuition only |
| Specialty programs | 2 | International Baccalaureate (IB) and Sports Academies |
| Living arrangement | Homestay | Included in the cost analysis where the school publishes it |
| Language support | Immersion | No separate ESL program in our data; we confirm with the school |
| Value verdict | Mid-market price |
Priced in line with the median across 5 CAIS schools, tuition only. The decision rests on fit: IB and homestay rather than price.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Language level: The school does not provide ESL support, so it is not suitable for students whose English has not yet reached the required threshold.
- Accommodation and custodianship: There is no boarding. Students under 17 arriving without parents need a custodian and a homestay arrangement in Canada. The homestay fee is not included in tuition, so the total budget must account for it.
Let us assess LCC's language requirement and Montreal accommodation options in light of your child's situation. You can request a free preliminary consultation from Canadian Edu Centre.