Home / High Schools / Private schools / Ontario

Keystone School

Private schoolToronto, OntarioGrades 6-12CAD 21,300 tuition / year
Illustrative image: Toronto
Illustrative image · Toronto
Analysis at a glance
Why
Looking for small classes · IB or OSSD choice
Because
Average class size of 12 · OSSD and IB Diploma Programme · Entry from Grade 6
Result
Close monitoring · Flexible diploma path · Predictable budget
Benefit
Budget-friendly · CAD 3,080 below the median, with IB and boarding with supervised study
Cost
CAD 21,300 (headline annual tuition) · about CAD 2,130 per school month
Why

Why Keystone School?

Families looking for a small downtown school where teachers know each student well, rather than a large campus, often consider Keystone. The school is in the Annex neighbourhood, right beside the University of Toronto.

  • Looking for small classes: Parents worried that their child will fall behind in crowded classrooms tend to look at this school.
  • IB or OSSD choice: Families who want time to decide between the two diplomas can consider both at the same school.
  • City-centre location: The university area and nearby subway access suit students who want an urban lifestyle.
Because

Reasons: features that set Keystone School apart

The school's official website describes how its small scale benefits students in the following ways.

  • Average class size of 12: Low enrolment lets teachers notice gaps in a student's learning early, and language adjustment moves faster.
  • OSSD and IB Diploma Programme: Students can graduate with the Ontario diploma or choose the IB route, which has strong international recognition.
  • Entry from Grade 6: Middle and high school share one building, so a student who starts early can stay through Grade 12 without changing schools.
  • Annex location: Being near the University of Toronto gives students daily access to campus life and the city's cultural offerings.
  • Supervised homestay: Host families undergo a criminal record check and a reference check, and are chosen within 30 to 60 minutes of the school by public transit, so parents get a clear framework for accommodation.
  • Residence for senior students: Students aged 16 and over can live in the nearby Parkside Residence, which makes the move toward independent living before university more gradual.
Cost

Cost analysis: what one school year costs

Annual tuition for international students is CAD 21,300 for 2026-27; homestay is CAD 1,650 per month.

ItemCADWhen
Tuition (international students)21,300listed with the annual fees
IB Diploma Programme, per year3,000listed with the annual fees
Resource fee750listed with the annual fees
Activity fee500listed with the annual fees
Health insurance750listed with the annual fees
Homestay, per month1,650per month
Registration fee3,000one-time
Headline annual tuition21,3002026-27
One-time fees in the first year3,000added to the first year only

The headline fee works out to about CAD 2,130 per school month over a 10-month year, before accommodation.

Homestay is a monthly amount; Parkside Residence fee not stated; frequency of resource, activity and insurance fees not stated; confirm with the school

Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.

How this fee compares

At CAD 21,300, this fee is CAD 3,080 below the median of CAD 24,380 among 16 private schools, tuition only.

Result

Outcome: what it means for the student and family

These features translate into the following benefits for families and students.

  • Close monitoring: Small classes let parents follow their child's academic and social progress through concrete feedback from teachers.
  • Flexible diploma path: Families can choose between IB and OSSD based on the student's academic strength and target country.
  • Predictable budget: The school lists its 2026–27 fee items individually, so families can estimate total costs in advance.
  • Education connected to the city: Museums, libraries and the university campus are close to the school, so learning extends beyond the classroom.
Benefit

Benefit analysis: what the investment buys

Academic

The student works toward the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) plus International Baccalaureate (IB), taught and assessed by certified Canadian teachers.

Language

Every lesson, club and team runs in English, which turns English into a working language rather than a school subject.

Living & care

A choice of on-campus boarding or a carefully placed homestay, with staff responsible for the student’s daily routine.

Talents & interests

Clubs, teams and community activities let the student build a profile beyond grades.

Future

A Canadian transcript, teacher references and extracurricular record that Canadian and international universities review directly.

Cost–benefit at a glance

MeasureValueWhat it means
Annual investmentCAD 21,300Headline annual tuition, from the cost analysis above
Per school monthCAD 2,130Over a 10-month school year
Price position−CAD 3,080vs. median CAD 24,380 · 16 private schools, tuition only
Specialty programs1International Baccalaureate (IB)
Living arrangementBoarding & homestayIncluded in the cost analysis where the school publishes it
Language supportImmersionNo separate ESL program in our data; we confirm with the school
Value verdictBudget-friendly

CAD 3,080 below the median across 16 private schools, tuition only. Families get the full Canadian school experience for less.

Who it suits and what to consider

  • Who it suits: Students who can travel independently, adapt to city life and prefer a small school community.
  • Costs: On top of tuition, families pay a resource fee (CAD 750), an activity fee (CAD 500), health insurance (CAD 750), an annual IB DP fee (CAD 3,000) and accommodation costs. Current fees should be confirmed with the school before applying.
  • Accommodation structure: The school has no residence of its own. Students under 16 live with a host family, and students under 17 need a custodian.

The school accepts applications up to one year in advance and admits students in September, with a summer intake when places remain. Applications require an identity document and the last two years of report cards. Let us explore the IB versus OSSD question together based on your child's academic history. Book a free preliminary consultation with Canadian Edu Centre.

Request a free pre-assessment

WhatsAppChat with an advisor