Rosseau Lake College

- Why
- Hands-on learners · Families wanting a very small school
- Because
- Small scale · Boarding focus · International mix
- Result
- Being visible · Recognised diploma · International experience
- Benefit
- Budget-friendly · CAD 6,650 below the median, with boarding with supervised study and ESL support
- Cost
- CAD 83,000 (headline annual fee with boarding) · about CAD 8,300 per school month
Why Rosseau Lake College?
Families of children who get overlooked in large schools and who learn best by doing often look for a very small, nature-based school. The school's 140-student scale and its "wall-less classrooms" approach are aimed at that kind of student. CAIS accreditation means the school is also reviewed against national standards.
- Hands-on learners: Students who learn better through projects and field work. The school describes this approach as "wall-less classrooms".
- Families wanting a very small school: A close community where everyone knows each other. Total enrollment is 140.
- Nature-loving students: Students who enjoy a lake and forest setting. The campus is on the shore of Lake Rosseau.
Reasons: what sets Rosseau Lake College apart
- Small scale: 140 students in total, with one instructor for every five students, so each student is known and followed.
- Boarding focus: 70% of students live on campus, so school life continues into evenings and weekends.
- International mix: Half the students are international, representing 23 nationalities, so students use English in a multicultural setting.
- Experiential learning: The 56-acre campus serves as a "living laboratory", and lessons are taught through inquiry and projects.
- ESL courses: English as a Second Language classes support students who need language help.
- Early guidance: University counselling begins in Grade 9 with one-on-one meetings, so course choices match students' goals.
- Distinctive courses: Offerings include Wilderness First Aid, Expedition Leadership and Entrepreneurship.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
International boarding tuition is CAD 83,000 per year; the page does not state the school year.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| International boarding tuition (annual) | 83,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| Guardianship service offered by the school, from 2026-27 (page does not say whether one-time or recurring) | 800 | listed with the annual fees |
| Registration fee | 4,000 | one-time |
| Headline annual fee with boarding | 83,000 | school year not stated |
| One-time fees in the first year | 4,000 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 8,300 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included.
School year of the tuition figure is not stated; confirm the current rate with the school. Flights and personal expenses not included. Sibling discount offered, amount not stated.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 83,000, this fee is CAD 6,650 below the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.
Outcome: self-aware, confident students
- Being visible: In a small school every student speaks up and takes on responsibility. This is especially valuable for shy students.
- Recognised diploma: All graduates earn the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD). Recognition in the student's home country is handled by that country's education authority.
- International experience: Round Square membership and the Duke of Edinburgh program create opportunities beyond the classroom, including joint projects with schools in other countries.
- Practical skills: Outdoor classes build leadership and problem-solving abilities, which students can highlight in university applications.
Benefit analysis: what the investment buys
The student works toward the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) plus Business and Entrepreneurship, taught and assessed by certified Canadian teachers.
ESL/ELL support builds academic English step by step, so subject marks are not held back by language.
On-campus boarding with supervised study time, meals and weekend activities inside one community.
Outdoor Education let the student build a profile beyond grades.
A Canadian transcript, teacher references and extracurricular record that Canadian and international universities review directly.
Cost–benefit at a glance
| Measure | Value | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Annual investment | CAD 83,000 | Headline annual fee with boarding, from the cost analysis above |
| Per school month | CAD 8,300 | Over a 10-month school year |
| Price position | −CAD 6,650 | vs. median CAD 89,650 · 24 CAIS schools with boarding included |
| Specialty programs | 2 | Business and Entrepreneurship and Outdoor Education |
| Living arrangement | Boarding | Included in the cost analysis where the school publishes it |
| Language support | ESL/ELL | Structured English support listed by the school |
| Value verdict | Budget-friendly |
CAD 6,650 below the median across 24 CAIS schools with boarding included. Families get the full Canadian school experience for less.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Cost: The school lists international boarding tuition at CAD 83,000 and a registration fee of CAD 4,000, with a sibling discount available. The school's page does not state which school year the fees apply to, so confirm current fees with the school before applying. The school year runs from September to June; flights and personal expenses must be added to the budget.
- Location: The village of Rosseau is very small and far from a major city, and winters are harsh. It is not a good fit for students who want city life. Uniforms are mandatory, so families should discuss whether the student is comfortable with this structure and with rural living.
Is a small, nature-focused school like Rosseau Lake College right for your child? Let us assess it together in a free preliminary consultation with Canadian Edu Centre.