Havergal College

- Why
- Students with strong English · Families who want a girls' school
- Because
- Limited boarding intake · Integration with day students · Residence staff on campus
- Result
- Full participation · OSSD · A disciplined routine
- Benefit
- Mid-market price · CAD 2,165 below the median, with boarding with supervised study
- Cost
- CAD 87,485 (headline annual fee with boarding) · about CAD 8,748 per school month
Why Havergal College?
Havergal is for girls who already have advanced English and want a real Canadian school rather than an English-language course. The school offers no ESL support and deliberately keeps its boarding intake small. CAIS accreditation means the school is reviewed against national standards.
- Students with strong English: They must be able to join classes from day one. The school tests this level during admissions.
- Families who want a girls' school: Those looking for a setting where girls take the leading role. The school has educated girls since 1894.
- Families who want to live in Toronto but value a large campus: The campus is in the city, in a green, spacious area.
Reasons: Havergal College's strengths
- Limited boarding intake: Each year the school admits 8-10 boarders to grade 9, 5-7 to grade 10 and 3-5 to grade 11, so boarding stays selective and small.
- Integration with day students: Boarders take part in classes, teams and clubs with the school of roughly 1,000 students, so they live alongside Canadian students.
- Residence staff on campus: Five full-time boarding staff live on campus and security is continuous, so an adult is always present.
- Structured study: Supervised study periods are held every evening.
- Round Square and Duke of Edinburgh: The school is a Round Square member and runs the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award, giving students access to international service and adventure activities.
- A large city campus: The 22-acre campus on Avenue Road gives students a green setting inside Toronto.
- Counselling: Counsellors meet every boarder regularly, so course selection and university planning are closely monitored.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
International boarding tuition is CAD 87,485 per year for 2026-27; inclusions are not stated.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| International boarding tuition | 87,485 | listed with the annual fees |
| Registration fee | 9,500 | one-time |
| Headline annual fee with boarding | 87,485 | 2026-27 |
| One-time fees in the first year | 9,500 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 8,748 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included.
School expects annual increases of at least 3%; day fees and inclusions are not stated; confirm before applying.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 87,485, this fee is CAD 2,165 below the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.
Outcome: education on the same track as local students
- Full participation: Students study in the main program, not in a separate international class, which is the fastest setting for improving English.
- OSSD: Students follow the Ontario curriculum towards the Ontario Secondary School Diploma. Recognition in the student's home country is handled by that country's education authority.
- A disciplined routine: Evening study and small groups build study habits that continue into university.
- City activities: Supervised weekend trips go to cinemas, cultural venues and shopping. Students can also plan their own activities with permission.
Benefit analysis: what the investment buys
The student works toward the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD), taught and assessed by certified Canadian teachers.
Every lesson, club and team runs in English, which turns English into a working language rather than a school subject.
On-campus boarding with supervised study time, meals and weekend activities inside one community.
Clubs, teams and community activities let the student build a profile beyond grades.
A Canadian transcript, teacher references and extracurricular record that Canadian and international universities review directly.
Cost–benefit at a glance
| Measure | Value | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Annual investment | CAD 87,485 | Headline annual fee with boarding, from the cost analysis above |
| Per school month | CAD 8,748 | Over a 10-month school year |
| Price position | −CAD 2,165 | vs. median CAD 89,650 · 24 CAIS schools with boarding included |
| Specialty programs | Core program | Standard provincial curriculum |
| Living arrangement | Boarding | Included in the cost analysis where the school publishes it |
| Language support | Immersion | No separate ESL program in our data; we confirm with the school |
| Value verdict | Mid-market price |
Priced in line with the median across 24 CAIS schools with boarding included. The decision rests on fit: boarding with supervised study rather than price.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Language level: The school offers no ESL support, expects fluent speaking and writing, and may require IELTS. It is not suited to students with intermediate English.
- Cost: The 2026-27 international boarding fee is CAD 87,485, plus a one-time registration fee of CAD 9,500. The school expects fee increases of at least 3% a year, so families should budget for several years and confirm the current amount before applying.
We can assess together whether your daughter's English and SSAT preparation are sufficient for Havergal. We recommend booking a free preliminary assessment meeting with Canadian Edu Centre.