Brentwood College School

- Why
- Those seeking a balanced day · Those wanting full boarding
- Because
- Three-part program · AP courses · Oceanfront campus
- Result
- Time management · A well-rounded profile · Independence
- Benefit
- Premium · CAD 15,350 above the median, with AP and boarding with supervised study
- Cost
- CAD 105,000 (headline annual fee with boarding) · about CAD 10,500 per school month
Why Brentwood College School?
Families who want their child to study, exercise every day and practise an art form tend to choose Brentwood. It is a campus school celebrating its hundredth year, with boarding life at the heart of its education. CAIS accreditation shows that it is regularly reviewed against 12 national standards.
- Those seeking a balanced day: Families who value sports and arts as much as academic achievement.
- Those wanting full boarding: Families looking for a school where most students live on campus and weekends are not empty.
- Those wanting a campus in nature: Families who prefer seaside living away from city centres.
Reasons: the concrete features that set Brentwood apart
- Three-part program: Mornings are for academics and afternoons for arts and sports, so students work in all three areas every day. Students can make choices within each area.
- AP courses: Students meet university-level content in high school, which strengthens their applications.
- Oceanfront campus: The campus has about one kilometre of shoreline, so rowing, other water sports and outdoor classes are part of the daily schedule. The school also has a learning hub called the Centre for Innovation and Learning.
- Wide choice of sports: There are more than 20 sports, including rowing, rugby, soccer, basketball, ice hockey and tennis.
- Variety in the arts: Music, theatre, dance, visual arts, debate and robotics are offered, so students can build a portfolio within the school.
- International residences: Students come from more than 50 countries, making the residences multicultural.
- Selective admissions: Applications include letters of recommendation, an aptitude test or the SSAT, and a 20 to 30 minute interview. The application fee is CAD 300.
Cost analysis: what one school year costs
International boarding tuition is CAD 105,000 for 2026-27; inclusions are not specified.
| Item | CAD | When |
|---|---|---|
| International boarding tuition | 105,000 | listed with the annual fees |
| Enrolment deposit (at acceptance) | 25,000 | one-time |
| New student enrolment fee | 5,000 | one-time |
| Application fee | 300 | one-time |
| Headline annual fee with boarding | 105,000 | 2026-27 |
| One-time fees in the first year | 30,300 | added to the first year only |
The headline fee works out to about CAD 10,500 per school month over a 10-month year, accommodation and meals included.
Page does not state what tuition covers or whether the enrolment deposit is credited to tuition; fees may change; confirm with the school.
Fees were compiled in October 2026 and change every school year; confirm the amount with the school before applying.
How this fee compares
At CAD 105,000, this fee is CAD 15,350 above the median of CAD 89,650 among 24 CAIS schools with boarding included.
Outcome: what this structure gives the student
- Time management: A full, balanced daily schedule teaches planning, a skill that makes a clear difference in the first year of university.
- A well-rounded profile: Grades, sports and arts progress together, producing a complete university application. Students discover their strengths during high school.
- Independence: Boarding life requires students to take responsibility, with the support of the residence team and housemates.
- Strong English: English is spoken throughout the day, so the language quickly becomes part of everyday life.
Benefit analysis: what the investment buys
The student works toward the BC Certificate of Graduation (Dogwood Diploma) plus Advanced Placement (AP) and Robotics, taught and assessed by certified Canadian teachers.
Every lesson, club and team runs in English, which turns English into a working language rather than a school subject.
On-campus boarding with supervised study time, meals and weekend activities inside one community.
Visual Arts, Music, Dance Academy and Drama and Theatre let the student build a profile beyond grades.
A Canadian transcript, teacher references and extracurricular record that Canadian and international universities review directly.
Cost–benefit at a glance
| Measure | Value | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Annual investment | CAD 105,000 | Headline annual fee with boarding, from the cost analysis above |
| Per school month | CAD 10,500 | Over a 10-month school year |
| Price position | +CAD 15,350 | vs. median CAD 89,650 · 24 CAIS schools with boarding included |
| Specialty programs | 12 | Advanced Placement (AP), Robotics, Visual Arts, Music and Dance Academy |
| Living arrangement | Boarding | Included in the cost analysis where the school publishes it |
| Language support | Immersion | No separate ESL program in our data; we confirm with the school |
| Value verdict | Premium |
CAD 15,350 above the median across 24 CAIS schools with boarding included. The higher price is worth it when the student will use what it pays for: AP, boarding with supervised study, Visual Arts and Music.
Who it suits and what to consider
- Cost: International boarding tuition for 2026-27 is CAD 105,000 per year. Admission requires a CAD 25,000 enrolment deposit and a CAD 5,000 new-student fee. This is in the upper range among CAIS schools; families should confirm current fees with the school.
- Limited places: Because of high demand, international families are asked to contact the admissions office before applying. Day places are reserved for Canadian citizens living in the region.
Before applying, we suggest reviewing your child's profile and timeline together. You can contact Canadian Edu Centre for a free preliminary assessment meeting.